Shadowlands: The Mage Tower Returns Permanently

When first introduced in Legion, the Mage Tower challenged players to conquer unique solo class-specific encounters. Now the Tower is open once again, bringing back the excitement with all-new rewards to obtain, and a chance to prove your tenacity. Are you a master of your class? It's time to put your knowledge and skill to the test once more!

UPDATE: When we originally developed the Legion Timewalking Bonus Event, we were looking for other fun features from Legion we could add to it. Timeworn Keystones were part of that, and the Mage Tower as well.

Having heard feedback and seen how it has played out, we agree that a personal skill challenge being available only for a short window of time every few months isn't in the spirit of these types of events. As such, starting on the week of March 29, the Mage Tower will be accessible at any time, no longer tied to the Legion Timewalking Bonus Event.

Gaining Access to the Mage Tower

Travel to the Broken Isles and reach the Broken Shore from Dalaran. There, at Deliverance Point, you'll be able to enter the tower and engage in a challenge meant to test your skills. There are seven encounters available, and your specialization will determine which challenge you'll face. The challenges are:

An Impossible Foe: Defeat Agatha, the Imp Mother in her lair. This challenge is available to Elemental Shaman, Feral Druids, Fire Mages, Fury Warriors, Outlaw Rogues, and Unholy Death Knights.

Agatha, the Imp Mother

Closing the Eye: Defeat Archmage Xylem at the Eye of Eternity. This challenge is available to Arms Warriors, Frost Death Knights, Havoc Demon Hunters, Subtlety Rogues, and Survival Hunters.

Archmage Xylem

End of the Risen Threat: Defeat Lord Erdris Thorn in BlackRook Hold. This challenge is available to Holy Paladins, Holy Priests, Mistweaver Monks, Restoration Druids, and Restoration Shaman.

Jarod Shadowsong

Feltotem's Fall: Defeat Tugar Bloodtotem in Highmountain. This challenge is available to Beast Mastery Hunters, Destruction Warlocks, Discipline Priests, and Windwalker Monks.

Tugar Bloodtotem

The God-Queen's Fury: Defeat Sygrin in the Halls of Valor. This challenge is available to Arcane Mages, Assassination Rogues, Demonology Warlocks, Enhancement Shaman, and Retribution Paladins.


The Highlord's Return: Defeat Highlord Kruul in the Twisting Nether. This challenge is available to Blood Death Knights, Brewmaster Monks, Guardian Druids, Protection Paladins, Protection Warriors, and Vengeance Demon Hunters.

Highlord Kruul

Thwarting the Twins: Defeat the twins Raest and Karam Magespear in the Twisting Nether. This challenge is available to Affliction Warlocks, Balance Druids, Frost Mages, Marksmanship Hunters, and Shadow Priests.

Magespear Twins

Keep in mind that you will not be able to benefit from Legendary items or any other expansion-specific benefits like Covenant abilities when taking on these challenges, so plan accordingly!

Mage Tower Rewards

Upon defeating one of the seven challenges with any class, you'll earn a Legion-themed transmogrification set to celebrate your accomplishment, as well as the achievement "A Towering Success".

Guardian Druids can earn an additional reward: the Druid Fel Werebear Form, inspired by the original Mage Tower reward.

Completing all seven challenges will earn you the "A Tour of Towers" achievement, as well as the wondrous Soaring Spelltome mount. Knowledge is power, after all, and the Mage Tower does its fair share of knowledge testing. Master it and display this towering accomplishment.

Ready to take on the trials of the past? Theres no time to waste, hero. Adventure calls . . . .